Hugo Hards Awards

CEREMONY



The 1997 Hugo Awards Ceremony LoneStarCon 2

The 55th World Science Fiction Convention

Saturday, August 30, 1997 Grand Ballroom, Marriott Rivercenter San Antonio, Texas

Order of Events

Opening Remarks
Master of Ceremonies: Neal Barrett, Jr.

Big Heart Award Forry Ackerman

John W. Campbell Award
Sponsored by Analog and Penny Press
Stanley Schmidt

Unveiling of the 1997 Hugo Award

Base designed by Clayburn Moore

Rocket by Peter Weston

Fan Artist Teddy Harvia

Fan Writer Roy Tackett

Fanzine Bradley Denton

Professional Artist Mitchell Davidson Bentley

Semiprozine; Professional Editor Pat Cadigan & Ellen Datlow

Dramatic Presentation
Don Maitz

Non-Fiction Book Robert Silverberg

Short Story, Novelette Michael Moorcock

> Novella, Novel Algis Budrys

The 1997 Hugo Nominees

John W. Campbell Award (not a Hugo)

Michael A. Burstein (second year of eligibility)
Raphael Carter (first year of eligibility)
Richard Garfinkle (first year of eligibility)
Katya Reimann (first year of eligibility)
Sharon Shinn (second year of eligibility)

Fan Artist

- Ian Gunn
- Joe Mayhew
- Peggy Ranson
- William Rotsler
- Sherlock

Fan Writer

- Sharon Farber
- Mike Glyer
- Andy Hooper
- Dave Langford
- · Evelyn C. Leeper

Fanzine

- Ansible edited by Dave Langford
- File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
- Mimosa edited by Richard & Nicki Lynch
- Nova Express edited by Lawrence Person
- Tangent edited by Dave Truesdale

Semiprozine

- Interzone edited by David Pringle
- Locus edited by Charles N. Brown
- The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Tad Dembinski, Ariel Hameon, David G. Hartwell and Kevin Maroney
- Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew I. Porter
- Speculations edited by Kent Brewster

Professional Editor

- Gardner Dozois
- Scott Edelman
- Patrick Nielsen Hayden
- Kristine Kathryn Rusch
- Stanley Schmidt

Professional Artist

- Thomas Canty
- David Cherry
- Bob Eggleton
 - Don Maitz
 - Michael Whelan

Dramatic Presentation

- Independence Day (Centropolis Film Productions/20th Century Fox Film) Directed by Roland Emmerich, Written by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich, Produced by Dean Devlin
- *Mars Attacks* (Warner Bros.) Directed by Tim Burton, Written by Jonathan Gems, Produced by Tim Burton and Larry Franco
- Babylon 5 "Severed Dreams" (Warner Bros.) Directed by David J. Eagle, Written by J. Michael Straczynski, Produced by John Copeland
- Star Trek: First Contact (Paramount Pictures) Directed by Jonathan Frakes, Story by Ronald D. Moore, Brannon Braga & Rick Berman, Screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga, Produced by Rick Berman
- Star Trek: Deep Space Nine "Trials and Tribble-ations"
 (Paramount) Directed by Jonathan West, Written by Ronald D.
 Moore & Rene Echevarria, Story by Ira Steven Behr & Hans
 Beimler & Robert Hewitt Wolfe, Executive Producers Ira Steven
 Behr & Rick Berman

Non-Fiction Book

- The Faces of Fantasy by Patti Perret (Tor)
- Look at the Evidence by John Clute (Serconia Press)
- The Silence of the Langford by Dave Langford (NESFA Press)
- Time & Chance by L. Sprague de Camp (Grant)
- The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones (Gollancz/Vista)

Short Story

- "The Dead" by Michael Swanwick (Starlight 1)
- "Decency" by Robert Reed (Asimov's 6/96)
- "Gone" by John Crowley (F&SF 9/96)
- "The Soul Selects Her Own Society..." by Connie Willis (Asimov's 4/96; War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches)
- "Un-Birthday Boy" by James White (Analog 2/96)

Novelette

- "Age of Aquarius" by William Barton (Asimov's 5/96)
- "Beauty and the Opera or the Phantom Beast" by Suzy McKee Charnas (Asimov's 3/96)
- "Bicycle Repairman" by Bruce Sterling (Intersections; Asimov's 10-11/96)
- "The Land of Nod" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 6/96)
- "Mountain Ways" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's 8/96)

Novella

- "Abandon in Place" by Jerry Oltion (F&SF 12/96)
- "Blood of The Dragon" by George R. R. Martin (Asimov's 7/96)
- "The Cost to Be Wise" by Maureen F. McHugh (Starlight 1)
- "Gas Fish" by Mary Rosenblum (Asimov's 2/96)
- "Immersion" by Gregory Benford (SF Age 3/96)
- "Time Travelers Never Die" by Jack McDevitt (Asimov's 5/96)

Novel

- Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (HarperCollins Voyager; Bantam Spectra)
- Holy Fire by Bruce Sterling (Orion; Bantam Spectra)
- Memory by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
- Remnant Population by Elizabeth Moon (Baen)
- Starplex by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace; Analog 7-10/96)

Acknowledgments

Photo Credits (where available): Charles Brown & Kristine Kathryn Rusch by Beth Gwinn; Jerry Oltion by Kathy Oltion; George R.R. Martin by Parris; Robert J. Sawyer by Carolyn Clink

Ceremony Coordinator: Lori Wolf Assistant Coordinator: Cindy Foster

Staff: Beth Dodd-Ellis, Steve Lebowitz, Ruth Sachter, Randy Shepherd, Randy Smith, Martha Wells, Troyce Wilson

House Manager: Mary Sommerfeld

Hugo Program Cover: Brad W. Foster

Pin Design: Terry Berry

Pyrotechnics: Bill Parker

Set Design: Debbie Hodgkinson

Slide Design & Presentation: A.T. Campbell, III

Technical Director: Kathy Thornton

WSFS Division Chief: Tim Illingworth

Hugo Administrator: Nina Siros

Administration Staff: Scott Cupp, Charles Siros, Willie Siros

Thank You

Special Thanks to: A.T. Campbell, III, all the folks at TSR and Wizards of the Coast (especially Pierce Watters), Jason Tibbitts, Janice Gelb, Debby Moir, Deb Geisler, Suzanne Moore, Cathy Beckwith, Carrie Richerson, Sue Francis, Patty Wells

Extra Special Thanks to all the Tech Crew and especially to all the Ushers and other people who will be drafted to help too late to be mentioned in this program

